soma chakra.jpg

The SOMA Chakra vibrates in the magenta realm of ultra violet. It is not as well known as the other chakras, veiled in the shadow of the ‘Third-Eye’ and supporting the crown, positioned at the hairline/widows peak, are important and worthy distinctive forces.


The ‘Soma’ is also known as Amria Chakra - which means ‘the Nectar of the Crescent Moon’. It provides the framework for the ‘A-KA-THA’ - the inverted triangle, symbol of feminine energy, and the great seat of Shiva & Parvati consciousness. This impelling energy represents the realization of our inherent animation to create, preserve and dissolve; the foundational embryos which lay dormant within the First (base/root) Chakra.

The Shiva/Parvati union is the expression of three aspects of consciousness: ‘Knowing, Feeling & Doing’; the emanation of truth, beauty and goodness. The realization that these forms existing, within all expressions of life, is the expression of the highest state of living. To incorporate them into your life is the highest state of realization.

Symbolically, Shiva provides the stimulus to awaken the Shakti and draw her wisdom into union with him. When first awakened she is a furious serpent whose breath is fire. She proceeds upward from her nest within the root chakra via the path of ‘Sarasvati’ and soon the ego subsides. Sarasvati is the goddess of eloquence and transcendent-knowledge . She is depicted as a graceful woman, holding a lute (sound), a book (wisdom), a rosary (mantra prayer), a conch (pronouncement utterance). a bell (transience), a plow (cultivation) and a bow (determination).

The fully awakened ‘Soma’ is the ultimate union of Shiva and Shakti within which non-dualistic realization is achieved. Such potency is pooled physically, within us, in the energetic union of two brain glands; pituitary and pineal.


The pituitary governs the stuff of physical incarnation (method). The pineal, establishing transcendent (spiritual) awareness/awakening (wisdom).Being governed by a shadowing planet Rahu it is ignored by lots of healers and Yogi's this is the most powerful of the lot.


Soma Chakra governs the whole body. This chakra is situated in the forehead. It has twelve petals and is Ultra Violet in colour, with residing male energy is Shiva and the female goddess Kalratri. Meditating on the Soma Chakra clears the negativities and brings clear visionary powers to transmute. And it corresponds to all the organs of the body.

Positive Potential

Fully aware and conscious

Rejuvenation, bliss, immortality Physical awareness/character: union of male/female energies (Shiva/Shakti) within the spiritual plane

Signs of Imbalance 


Cut off from spiritual nourishment and connection

Attachments: Lost souls and walk ins

Imbalance: Accelerated ageing, dryness of skin, dehydration of the body or drying up of one's spirituality

Interesting facts

Physical connection: Pineal and pituitary glands

Metal: Silver

Sound: Aum


Soma Healing

Healing is a restorative process that re-kindles the essence of the Divine in every aspect thus liberating us from the suffering caused by painful experiences of life on the physical, emotional, mental, and/or spiritual plane of existence.


Soma means healing nectar. This healing nectar is generated in one of the energy centres of the Chakra system of our bodies known as the Soma Chakra.


The Soma Chakra is activated using touch, the Soma Chakra cream, meditation and mantra therapy. The flow of soma is directed to wherever one desires to experience healing.

Colour: Ultra violet/Pure White

Location: Slightly above the Ajna in the centre of the skull/widows peak

Planet: Moon

Crystal:  Phenecite, diamond, Preseli Bluestone

Keyword:Divine Nectar, Spiritual Connection Clarity, Completion, Expansion